Glossary

Vegetarianism
Type of termDefinition
TermVegetarianism
Alternative Termsvegetarian, vegetarians
Replaced with-
Short Description-
Long Description

In line with the key principle of ahiṃsā – non-violence – Jains are traditionally vegetarian. They do not eat meat, fish, eggs or anything that contains potential life, such as onions, potatoes and aubergines. They do generally eat dairy products.

Term Language-
http://www.jainpedia.org/resources/glossary.html?cHash=26dd6b14aba723fba5449537cd64c5a7&tx_contagged%5Bsource%5D=default&tx_contagged%5Buid%5D=613 - All text is © JAINpedia / Institute of Jainology 2017 under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 licence The Jain universe online at www.jainpedia.org

Unless images are explicitly stated as either public domain or licensed under a Creative Commons licence, all images are copyrighted. See individual images for details of copyright.